20
Aug
14

Attempting Something New

Was there ever a time when you think you are unable to do something and yet did? It can be truly amazing, isn’t it?

Just three weeks ago, a new project landed on my feet. It was too good a chance to miss and it was another exciting journey in my professional life. The content of the subject was not difficult and something I have enjoyed over the years, reading, researching and doing, always trying to better my skills. However, this time round, part of the project required me to draw. Draw?

Yes, I have drawn … more like doodles and noodles. But draw something recognisably good enough for a class? Mmm, I had to think about it. But passing up the chance of working with a wonderful team and mentor became too great to miss. I decided to press on. Did quite a bit of research on how to draw from the internet and books. Then I set out to practise and practise and practise. More practise. My pencils got shorter and eraser got smaller.

By the time I hit the 50th sketch, I was almost a quarter way there. Then I needed to add in colours. The next step set in. Things were coming to shape. I sent my amateur work for critique. “Cute” was the polite first reply. My second attempt came back with, “Improved”. Diligently, I continued.

By now, I have decided to go for a formal class to raise my competency level with better understanding of techniques. Actually I have always wanted to attend such a class. What better time than now? Looking back, attempting something new is not so daunting after all. What seems ridiculous initially start to take shape when heart and mind are in one place, the possibilities are endless. I am glad I did. It is another “talent” to nurture and keep it as a hobby.

So what’s new that you would like to attempt and yet stop in your tracks? What’s stopping you? If it enriches your life, will you have a go? Soon?


2 Responses to “Attempting Something New”


  1. August 21, 2014 at 3:58 am

    Ha! ironically that’s what I am all about. Showing the world my entirely lackluster skill set. There are so many things I would LIKE to be able to do, but have been too afraid to try, so one day I just decided to try it ‘all’. I hate to inform you that so far it isn’t going as well as I’d like, but that makes it all the more fun.

    Drawing/sketching is definitely a valuable skill. And a skill that lack, but I still like to pretend.

    It’s great that you have decided to dive in and learn instead of shy away with self doubt. There aren’t a lot of people willing to do that.

    Good luck to you!
    And hopefully we will get to see some of your work.

    • September 3, 2014 at 7:43 am

      Hi. Thank you for your kind comments.

      Yes, I totally agree with you that there are many things we would like to do. It does take some adventurous spirit and a dose of curiosity to try something new. I find it best to attempt one task at a time.

      Would love to hear what new stuff you have embarked on. : )


Leave a comment