04
Jan
14

Which Wolf Will You Feed?

This morning, the first Saturday in 2014, the sun was shining in a clear blue sky. It evoked a feeling of new opportunities with renewed strength, a new beginning. Saturdays are one of my favourite days and today I thought I would sit and finish writing my plans for this year having time to mull over them in the last couple of weeks.

Going through the files in my laptop, I come across a story. This is how it goes:

An old Cherokee told his grandson, “My son, there is a battle between two wolves inside us all. One is Evil. It is anger, jealousy, greed, resentment, inferiority, lies and ego. The other is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, humility, kindness, empathy and truth.” The boy thought about it and asked, “Grandfather, which wolf wins?” The old man quietly replied, “The one you feed.” (Author unknown)

This story came at the right moment. Looking back in the year that has just gone by, which of the two wolves inside you dominated?  Were you confronted by anger or joy? Were there moments of jealousy, resentment instead of peace, love and kindness? Were there days where inferiority took over?

While putting together a plan for the future, how would you steer forward for a better tomorrow? What would be in your plans that promote possibilities over fear? What would you do to put forth the Good Wolf? Do your plans have safeguard measures to ensure they stay positive? What happens when things do not ride well, would these measures be sufficient to pull you through?

Back to my drawing board, I start to look at my plans with new eyes. Plans that make me a better person. Plans that bring sunshine and plans that touch lives. I have a choice. It is obvious which wolf I choose to feed. What about you?

 


0 Responses to “Which Wolf Will You Feed?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment